Collaboration with S.O.F.A.T Blog: Pork Belly!

Hi everyone! I was lucky enough to do my second blog collaboration with and old friend, Michael from S.O.F.A.T Blog. If you remember, my first one was with Christine from Christine’s Kitchen Chronicles back in September, check out the post here.

I love Michael’s blog name: S.O.F.A.T, which stands for Stories Of Food And Travel. Get it? It’s so clever, and so… Michael, because this guy seriously will go to places for food! Michael is also one of the first people I met when I transferred high school from Texas (yee-haw!) to California. He made fun of me and my Texas “Barn Dance” and I will forever be known to him as “Barn Girl.”

Michael came to visit New York and through a mutual friend we decided to do a blog collaboration using PORK BELLY as our secret ingredient! The result? Oily Goodness

IMG_1274

I decided to do the pork belly two ways. First is pork belly braised low and slow. I used regular soy sauce, Tamari/dark soy sauce (for color and depth of flavor), finely chopped ginger, a bit of garlic, a bit of sugar, salt, and pepper. You can also see from the picture that I used some dried hot peppers which gave the dish some serious kick! I grew up in Indonesia eating spicy food since I was a toddler, so you can omit this part if you prefer sweet over spicy.

I garnished the dish with scallions. I have to give credit to Michael for inspiring me with this particular scallion diagonal knife cut as it looked so pretty! I learned this from his In-the-Kitchen Video 01 – Green Onions (Scallions) post/v-log, which he debuted in mid-March.

IMG_1288

The hubs and I enjoyed this dish with steamed white rice. I think we had some white wine to accompany it as well, a nice, smooth and slightly sweet French Vouvray to cut through the spiciness.

My second pork belly dish was inspired by my lovely mom. We call this Babi Kecap in Indonesian, which literally translates to “Soy Pork.” This is something she used to cook for me and my sister growing up. The dish contains pork belly cut up in small pieces, hard-boiled eggs, and tofu. It’s all simmered in broth that’s seasoned with regular soy sauce, dark soy sauce, and sweet soy sauce (kecap manis, ABC is my fave brand for this particular item), and of course some s+p. Taste as you go and trust your instinct!

IMG_1284

I sent this picture to my mom and I think she was quite impressed =) She taught me well.

IMG_1291

Not too many pictures this time, but please head over to S.O.F.A.T and check out Michael’s food journey in his beautiful pictures. Did I tell you that Michael also used to lead delicious dumplings food tours around our hometown in California? Yeap! This guy has a lot of tricks up his sleeves. I can’t wait to see what is more to come from his blog, and especially from his new video series!

Until next time everyone, keep whisking away! or like what Michael says, let’s all get…. S.O.F.A.T.

xo,

Angelina

4 thoughts on “Collaboration with S.O.F.A.T Blog: Pork Belly!

Leave a comment